#2 Start a blog

image

So while I wait for my girlfriend to read the first novel and allow time to create that all important distance I need to go back to it and edit with fresh eyes, I should of course be getting on with the second novel.

Work avoidance is an art form and yesterday I managed to avoid writing by convincing myself that I needed to read The Writers and Artists Yearbook and create accounts on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, WordPress to promote a book that I haven’t properly finished let alone sent to an agent.

Despite the overcast weather the pool does look very tempting. I should point out that this is not my pool. It belongs to the in-laws and I only visit about once a month so don’t get the wrong idea about my writing environment – I’ll set the record straight about that soon enough.

The bottom line is that while those on target with Nanowrimo this month will have already written 25,000 words whereas I, at 3,000 am averaging less than 300 a day meaning at this rate it’ll be a year before I can start revisions.

Better stop writing this blog and get on with the novel then.

About M J Dees

M J Dees lives and works in Sao Paulo, Brazil with his daughter and two cats. You can sign up for more information on his book launches at http://eepurl.com/cTnAD5 and receive a free copy of The Doomed Planet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #2 Start a blog

  1. Pingback: #2 Start a blog | Our Man in Sao Paulo

  2. Pingback: #100 Writing a blog | M J Dees

Leave a comment