#36 Finding out all about self-publishing

Like a lot of people, I always considered self-publishing to be tantamount to vanity publishing.  However, the more I learn about self-publishing, the more I realise that many authors are choosing it over the traditional route because it gives them much more control over how their work is promoted.

I’ve been glued to You Tube this week watching the Self Publishing Formula podcasts which have interesting discussions about all aspects of the self-publishing process.

Having just re-written the ending to my first novel,  I have still sent it off to agents in the UK, Australia, Canada and the USA but I have also been giving much more serious thought to the process of self-publishing.

I’m already promoting myself as an author through my own Facebook profile and page, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, Google + and of course this blog. The next step is to set up a mailing list which I have done through Mail Chimp. You can sign up to the mailing list at http://eepurl.com/cvENKH

The next step is to promote the mailing list which I have attempted to do organically through Twitter and Facebook posts and at time of writing, I have the grand total of 9 subscribers.  Yes you read that right. Nine.

The issue is that Facebook have changed their algorithms so that posts reach only a fraction of followers unless you pay for Facebook advertising.  So that’s the next step is to listen to the Self Publishing Formula podcast #47 all about promoting mailing lists through Facebook ads and then try a bit of advertising myself.

In the next post I’ll let you know how I got on.

 

 

 

About M J Dees

M J Dees lives and works in Sao Paulo, Brazil with his wife and daughter. He has written two novels, Living with Saci and The Story of James and David Part 1- The Anniversaries, and is currently working on his third.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

