#42 Preparing the first novel to be published

espresso-248881__340

I’m rapidly approaching my first self-imposed deadline for the completion of my third novel so the first task of the day is to complete my self-imposed word count for that which is a painful process. I only hope that when I read the thing back in a couple of months that it doesn’t read as badly as writing it feels right now.

Once the word count is out of the way I can then move on to task two for the day which is preparing my first novel for its launch for which I have self-imposed a deadline of August 1st.  Having received some really good feedback from readers I’ve just finished making all the changes I can bear to make and have decided that enough is enough and I am going to release it onto the unsuspecting public.

To be honest, at this stage I’m not really bothered about how well it is received I just want to get rid of it and move on to the second novel.

I sent the final text to the person who is going to design the cover for me and the plan is that she is going to create three alternatives which I will test via social media before deciding on the final version.

While that process is taking place I decided that I would prepare the text for formatting so, to get an idea of the kind of things to include in the end matter I downloaded a free Mark Dawson short story from Amazon to see how he did it. They say never reinvent the wheel so I have appropriated his ideas for my own book before loading the text up to draft2digital which is an online formatting service.

The process was so unbelievably easy that I now have all this spare time left over to write this blog. Basically, my ebook is ready, all I need to do is drop in the front cover and it’s ready to go.

I have already set up Amazon and Draft2digital accounts and have completed the US tax interviews so everything is ready to go.

Once the cover ideas are ready I will need to send them out to social media and once the final design is chosen then I will need to create some ads to promote the book but it is undoubtedly true that the hardest thing to do is to write the book in the first place.

About M J Dees

M J Dees lives and works in Sao Paulo, Brazil with his wife, daughter and two cats. He has written three novels, Living with Saci will be published on August 1st and the other two will be published later in the year. He is currently writing the fourth. You can sign up for more information on his book launches at http://eepurl.com/cTnAD5
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

