#112 Reading The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman

51P45zHSEkL

The Memory Book is a Sunday Times bestseller and was a Richard and Judy Autumn Book Club pick. It follows the fortunes of Claire, a mother who is struggling to come to terms with early onset Alzheimer.

The book, told from various perspectives, gives a sense of the frustrations and confusion which a sufferer must experience as well as the effects the condition has on those around.

It is an emotional journey, not just for Claire but also for her eldest daughter who goes in search of her father and for Claire’s husband who finds himself in an awkward position.

If found the book deeply engaging and even the slightly predictable twist was still very rewarding. Readers who like LIVING WITH SACI or LIVING WITH THE HEADLESS MULE will probably like The Memory Book .

Rowan has now written twelve novels including The Day we Met, The Accidental Mother and The Runaway Wife. I listened to The Memory Book on Audible where it was brilliantly read by Robert BlackwoodClare Corbett and Anna Bentinck

(all paid links)

 

 

About M J Dees

M J Dees lives and works in Sao Paulo, Brazil with his wife, daughter and two cats. He has written three novels, Living with Saci, The Astonishing Anniversaries of James and David, Part One, and When The Well Runs Dry. He is currently editing the fourth and writing the fifth. You can sign up for more information on his book launches at http://eepurl.com/cTnAD5 and receive a free copy of Living With Saci.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s